Find an Event

Looking for your next challenge?

Find an event that’s right for you on our event search

Triathlon England launch Birmingham 2022 Selection Policy


Ahead of next year’s Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, Triathlon England have released the selection policy by which the Team England triathletes and paratriathletes will be selected.

The launch of the triathlon and paratriathlon selection policy marks an important moment for athletes hoping to race in the home Games for Team England with just over a year to go until Birmingham welcomes athletes from across the world.

England are the most successful triathlon and paratriathlon nation in Commonwealth Games history, with the selected athletes for 2022 joining becoming part of a team that has previously won five gold, three silver and one bronze medal.

Previous gold medallists include Joe Townsend and Jade Jones-Hall who both took gold as paratriathlon (PTWC) made its Commonwealth debut in 2018 on the Gold Coast. Five years ago, England took silver in the mixed relay triathlon and Jess Learmonth also claimed silver in the women’s individual triathlon race.

In Birmingham, individual men’s and women’s triathlon, mixed relay triathlon and men’s and women’s PTVI paratriathlon will be raced over in Sutton Park on 29 and 31 July 2022.

Jonathon Riall, Team England Triathlon Team Leader, said: “I am personally delighted to be able to launch the selection policy for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games Triathlon which is now just over a year away.

“Triathlon England has a rich history when it comes to performances at the Commonwealth Games, and this policy reflects the ambition and desire for this team to be as best prepared to do the same. It’s rare that athletes will get the opportunity in their career to compete at a major multi-sport games on home soil, and therefore this is an enormous privilege to all who will be involved, and this policy aims to select the very best athletes, and the team behind the athletes are committed to supporting everyone to the highest standard.

“I want to thank all of the coaches across the British Programme who have supported the work that’s gone into this policy, and also the four team coaches in Scott Murray, Mark Buckingham, Bex Milnes and Rhys Davey who have been integral to the process. Should any athlete or coach wish to discuss the content of the policy we would all encourage people to reach out with any of us and do.”


Thanks to our Partners

Join Us

And enjoy insurance benefits, race licensing and more...